Fucking Great Albums

An Ongoing List Of Great Albums To Check Out.

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Joy Division & New Order

JD/NO Covered.

If you know me, you know how much of a Joy Division/New Order freak I have been for over thirty years. So, while in Boston the other night I found the CD A Means To An End: The Music Of Joy Division, cheap enough to finally purchase. Two weeks prior to this, I found the CD MOJO Presents: Power, Corrruption, & Lies Covered. Now this is pretty sacred ground, but I figured I would venture forth for the collected sum of $5.65 for the two discs.

As with any good cover, the artist interprets the song and creates their aural landscape. Of course it can be difficult to listen to songs from your favorite band(s), that you know well, that are drastically different in texture. But if you keep an open mind, you find some versions that are very unique.

Some of the artists/bands are well-known on the A Means To An End: The Music Of Joy Division compilation: Moby, Tortoise, Codeine and one of my favorites, Low. On the other hand, the other compilation, MOJO Presents: Power, Corrruption, & Lies Covered, offers many bands that I am less familiar with and have had to research.

Track Listings

A Means To An End: The Music Of Joy Division
  1. "She's Lost Control" (performed by Girls Against Boys) (3:29)
  2. "Day of the Lords" (performed by Honeymoon Stitch) (4:55)
  3. "New Dawn Fades" (performed by Moby) (5:34)
  4. "Transmission" (performed by Low) (6:13)
  5. "Atmosphere" (performed by Codeine) (4:50)
  6. "Insight" (performed by Further) (3:55)
  7. "Love Will Tear Us Apart" (performed by Stanton Miranda) (3:58)
  8. "Isolation" (performed by Starchildren) (3:48)
  9. "Heart and Soul" (performed by Kendra Smith) (6:08)
  10. "Twenty Four Hours" (performed by Versus) (4:26)
  11. "Warsaw" (performed by Desert Storm) (4:05)
  12. "They Walked In Line" (performed by GodheadSilo) (2:55)
  13. "Interzone" (performed by Face to Face) (2:30)
  14. "As You Said" (performed by Tortoise) (4:22)
MOJO Presents: Power, Corrruption, & Lies Covered

 1. THE GOLDEN FILTER "Age Of Consent" (6:25)
 2. TARWATER "We All Stand" (4:52)
 3. ERRORS "The Village" (4:41)
 4. S.C.U.M. "586" (5:56)
 5. FUIYA & MIYAGI "Your Silent Face" (6:32)
 6. SEEKAE "Ultraviolence" (3:41)
 7. WALLS "Ecstacy" (4:33)
 8. DESTROYER "Leave Me Alone" (4:30) 

Blue Monday 12″
 9. BIOSHERE "Blue Monday" (5:28)
10. ZOMBIE ZOMBIE "The Beach" (4:25)
11. LONELADY "Cries And Whispers" (3:51) – Bonus Track
12. ANOTHER’S BLOOD "Lonesome Tonight" (4:32) – Bonus Track
13. K-X-P "Murder" (4:10) – Bonus Track

Here's one from each album to start the journey. 

 Another's Blood covering "Lonesome Tonight" by New Order.

Low covering "Transmission" by Joy Division.